logolong

public buses with wheelchair access

More
9 years 3 months ago #56107 by Karl
Yesterday I got stuck under a bus in the doorway for thirty minutes nobody could move me.

I got stuck getting on the bus so the driver lower the bus but it trapped my wheelchair under the bus and the bus would not go up too as it broke down.

Driver was helpful but he couldn't free me and then afew more helped but the chair was jammed under the bus so everyone got off the bus as the driver phoned for a jack for highing the bus but this really tall man came walking by and he pulled me free by lifting my chair up.

Next time I will wait for the bus to be down first but I thought it was down as the driver was looking at me.

Has anyone else had problems with access on buses

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
9 years 3 months ago #56110 by Tomrymer
I have no recent experience of busses Karl but had a friend who found the situation hopeless as he lived halfway along the bus route and by the time the bus reached his stop the wheelchair space was always taken up by kids buggies and as it was first come first serve he could only get aboard once in five tries.
We were both on the transport users advisory committee, now defunct, and were unable to change anyone's mind on the issue.
When I could walk I found many of my internal bleeds were caused by bus use but this only became apparent once I had a car!

More
9 years 3 months ago #56112 by BUBBADOG14