logolong

MICROWAVE

More
15 years 8 months ago #6701 by Karl
Replied by Karl on topic Re: Microwave:
Mavis wrote:

Am not an expert when using a microwave and I learned fast how to turn sausages into cinders, also how to flood the oven with liquid, undercook potatoes and carrots. Now I think before I use it and have small successess, I at first you don't succeed,try, try , try again eh!:dry:

Maybe you should of got a simple microwave! More expensive microwaves means more complex there are to operate.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• Visitor
  • Visitor
14 years 9 months ago #25996 by
Replied by on topic Re: Microwave:
I know this is an old thread so I apologise if I should not have posted on it.

But I've been using a microwave oven for over 30 years, and am now on my third one. The first was too small when I had to move to an apartment without a kitchen, so I gave it to some friends who had just had a baby, and bought a larger one for all my cooking needs.

Years later that one packed up and as I couldn't then find someone to fix it I bought the latest version of the same make. Not a combi, just a plain microwave oven.

I then found someone to fix the previous one, and gave it to some other friends.

There is no way I would be able to cook certain things without my microwave, and it is brilliant for blanching vegetables for freezing when there is a glut because those vegetables are in season.

• Visitor
  • Visitor
14 years 8 months ago #27115 by
Replied by on topic Re: Microwave:
Today's main meal.

A load of lettuce torn up. Two Mediterranean cucumbers chopped up. One tennis ball size kohlrabi chopped up. Half a dozen radishes and about a dozen or so cherry tomatoes quartered.

One large frozen salmon steak, rinsed and put in the microwave in a polybag for just four minutes.

Added some stoned and sliced black olives, ditto stoned and sliced green olives.