logolong

Need support: hypermobility and carpal instability

More
15 years 2 months ago #15798 by bombadil
Hello everyone,

Finding this forum has been an immense relief, a huge thank you to everyone involved. Here is my story:

I am a 23 year old male located in Canada, and almost a year ago I had to leave my work due to bi-lateral wrist injury. I worked as a computerized communication facilitator at a university. My job consisted of attending classes with deaf, deaf-blind, and hard of hearing students and using a laptop to relay all aural information (and sometimes visual information, in the case of deaf-blind students) to them. What this means is that I typed every single word or sound that happened in the class so that the student with the disability could participate fully.

After about six months of doing this job I started experiencing severe pain in my wrists and hands, including shooting pains and tingling/numbness.

I had to stop working and went on workers compensation. The first doctor I saw diagnosed it as a sprain and prescribed physiotherapy.

I saw a really good physiotherapist and she told me that I have carpal instability. She did these tests and found a lot of \"clunking\" in my wrist bones. She wrote me a note to give to my doctor explaining her findings.

I saw the doctor again, and offered him the note from my physiotherapist. He told me to throw it in the trash, and he told me that my body is simply \"weak\" and that I should have chosen a different job. I knew then that this doctor didn't know anything about wrist injuries so I went to find another one...