logolong

Adaptations to the home

More
15 years 2 months ago #16874 by elliecrawshaw
I am a third year student at the University of Leeds, studying BA Social Policy. My dissertation is on research into the experience of adaptations in the home for disabled people.

I am extremely interested on the individual experience and opinions (positive and negative) of disabled people regarding gaining their adaptations. Within this I wish to address matters of attitudes of bodies concerned (such as builders, architects, occupational therapists, landlords, local authorities, etc), issues of funding (for example access to the Disabled Facilities Grant), and the general overall experience of obtaining adaptations to the home, (such as whether adaptations carried out have been beneficial, and will continue to be so, or any concerns you may have or have had about the process.) I will use your experiences as examples to illustrate existing literature on adaptation.

If you could take the time to write me a small paragraph on your individual experiences concerning adaptation to the home and issues surrounding it, I would be extremely grateful. Ideally, as rules regarding email contact differ between forums, it would be beneficial to me if you could post your responses into the group. Hopefully this may generate further discussion which I would like to encourage! The information you give to me will not go beyond my dissertation, and I will ensure that all names and locations will be changed in my work, although your post will be seen to other members of the group. If at any time you wish to withdraw your information from my study please let me know, and I shall do so immediately. I may ask further questions after your initial post, but it is at your discretion whether or not you wish to answer them, due to right to confidentiality and the sensitive nature of my research.

Many thanks in advance for your time, I would be extremely grateful for your help with my research.